Quick Bytes :
Location : Old Goa, Panjim, Goa
Built In : 1661
Architectural Style : Baroque & Manuline Style
The famous convent and church of St. Francis of Assisi is situated beside Se Cathedral Church, which is the largest church in Goa. The structure of the church consists of a nave with 3 chapels placed on its either side, two altars in transept and a main altar and a choir. The belfry of the convent and church of St. Francis of Assisi is placed to the north of the main altar. Beside the bell tower a sacristy is also built.
The Grandeur of Architecture :
The exterior of the church is made in Tuscan style, while the main entrance follows a Manuline style. The main altar of the church is designed in Baroque fashion and consists of Cronothian features over it. The nave of this church has ribbed vault and has no aisles. The internal supporting wall of the church, which supports the gallery atop, has beautiful floral designs and frescos.
On the façade of the church there is niche that holds the statue of our lady of miracles within it. This statue has been brought from Jaffna, Sri Lanka. On the pedestal bearing the emblem of Franciscans, there is a wooden statue of St. Francis of Assisi. As one enters the church, he can see a wooden pulpit that is carved with impressive floral designs.
The Sanctuary :
The sanctuary of the church is used for showcasing holy sacrament. The main altar, situated above the sanctuary, contains a large statue of St. Francis of Assisi and statue of Jesus having equally large size. Beneath these two figures, the three vows of the Saint are written; humility, poverty and obedience.
This church was built by the eighth Franciscan monks who arrived at Goa in 1517. After their arrival they secured this site from the then governor of this place. The site actually comprised few houses which belonged to a dead Thanadar.
The monks could afford to start humbly with a small chapel having three altars and a choir. This could be done with the efforts of their president. The present church was built later in 1661 which was originally a church of Holy Ghost.